The Trucking Association of New York Fleet Safety Awards were developed to recognize member fleets having the best record of safe operation in the New York State. TANY members submit applications based on their New York State miles driven and reportable accidents. Those with an accident rate lower than 0.5 are eligible to receive a Fleet Safety Award. Winners are categorized as either Pick-Up and Delivery or Long-Haul/Truckload and then broken down into three award classes: Small: 0 - 1,000,000 miles; Medium: 1,000,001 - 5,000,000 miles; and Large: Over 5,000,000 miles.

The winners of the 2018 Fleet Safety Awards, which were presented at the 2019 New York State Truck Safety and Education Symposium on April 9, 2019 at the Saratoga Hilton in Saratoga Springs, NY are as follows:

Pickup and Delivery- Small Class
1st: DeCrescente Distributing Company, Inc.
2nd: Doritex Corporation
3rd: Shaker Transport, Inc.

Pickup and Delivery- Medium Class
1st: Greene Trucking, Inc.
2nd: Bossong's Commercial Delivery, Inc.
3rd: A. Duie Pyle, Inc.  

Pickup and Delivery– Large Class
1st: FedEx Freight, Inc.*
2nd: Terpening Trucking Co., Inc.**

Long-Haul/Truckload- Small Class
1st: Speed Global Services
2nd: R.S. Maher & Son, Inc.
3rd: Kunle Brothers, Inc.

Long-Haul/Truckload- Medium Class
1st: Shaker Transport, Inc.
2nd: HazMat Environmental Group, Inc.

Long-Haul/Truckload- Large Class
1st: Walmart Transportation***
2nd: ARG Trucking Corp.
3rd: Grocery Haulers, Inc.

2018 Grand Champion: Walmart Transportation, LLC

2018 Grand Champion: Walmart Transportation, LLC

Additional Award Recipients
The following carriers had an accident rate of less than 0.5 in 2018:

C. T. Express, Inc.*
Croswell Enterprises, Ltd.
FedEx Freight, Inc.*
Genesee Bulk Transport, LLC*
J.D. Rugenstein & Sons, Inc.
John Wojtowicz, Inc.
Landmark Global
National Pipe & Plastics, Inc.
Night Hawk Transport, Inc.
Ray's Transportation, Inc.*
Speed Global Services
Stewart’s Shops Corp.

*Denotes Bronze Award: FSA recipient for 3-4 consecutive years.
**Denotes Silver Award: FSA recipient for 5-9 consecutive years.
***Denotes Gold Award: FSA recipient for 10+ consecutive years.